Sony Network acquire broadcasting rights for Copa America 2021 in the Indian subcontinent

Sony Pictures Networks has acquired exclusive television and digital broadcasting rights of Copa America. These broadcasting rights allow SPN to stream Copa America matches in the Indian subcontinent which include India, Bhutan, Nepal, Afghanistan, Maldives, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. 

Since Sony has acquired official broadcasting rights, the Copa America matches will be streamed live on Sony Ten 1, Sony Ten 2, Sony Ten 3, Sony Six. These channels are available in SSD and HD. For people in the subcontinent who wish to view online, SonyLIV – Sony Network’s own OTT app will be the exclusive source for the official stream. 

Also Read: Colombian Minister Reaffirms that Copa America will Go ahead as scheduled

Rajesh Kaul
Rajesh Kaul

While talking about the broadcasting rights acquisition, Rajesh Kaul, Chief Revenue Officer, Distribution and Head — Sports Business, Sony Pictures Networks India Private Limited said,

With this acquisition, we will be presenting our viewers the best of international football from Europe to South America through the months of June and July. From Cristiano Ronaldo and Kylian Mbappe in the UEFA EURO 2020 to Lionel Messi and Neymar in the Copa America 2021, our football calendar will showcase the best football players and teams from across the world.

India is a country with a 1.3 billion population and no network or tournament would miss such a huge country. Likes of Messi, Neymar are scheduled to play and these players have great support from the Indian audience. 

When & Where is Copa America 2021?

The 47th edition of Copa America will kick off on 14th June and will continue to find the best football team in South America till 11th July. 

This is the first time since the 1983 Copa America that two nations will host the tournament. Argentina and Colombia share the prestige of hosting the tournament. 

Total 10 teams from South America will participate in the tournament. These ten teams are divided into two groups of five teams each.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *